Updates: Two Big Things!

I have two big, exciting, new things to share, Readers!

First of all, this happened:

image

I registered for my first sprint triathlon! It’s July 30th and I’m really excited. I started swimming last year as cross-training and really began to enjoy it as an activity on its own. We have a very close family friend who completed an Ironman last year and when we went snowshoeing together, she convinced me! She was actually initially trying to get my dad to do it with her, but got me instead! I’ve definitely got a lot of work to do (my bike isn’t in the best shape, how does one even buy a wetsuit, where am I supposed to find open water swimming practice that isn’t gross harbor water, etc…) but it’s going to be a great towards-the-end-of-the-summer challenge.

Until I start my next challenge. And this one’s a big one.

I got into grad school! So in August I’ll be moving up to Montreal for a year for my master’s!

image

Me, on a visit to Chateau Ramezay, in 2014

This is kind of nuts for me. I graduated in 2013 with my bachelor’s and I’ve been working and striving towards grad school ever since, and it’s finally happening! I can’t wait to continue my research (I study early American, specifically diplomatic relations and comparative social history of New England-Québec-Acadia/Nova Scotia) and work with professors I’ve admired for years.

[Getting to move to Canada, even if it ends up being just a year, is also a bonus. I love Montreal, I also love getting to mean it when I say ‘That’s it! I’m moving to Canada!’]

It is a big change, moving from my hometown, and a big risk giving up my job here in Massachusetts. There’s a little bit of anxiety mingled with excitement, and I think that’s also why I finally decided to sign up for the triathlon this summer. I feel like if I can set the goal to complete the triathlon and meet that goal, I can succeed in grad school too. If I can complete my physical/athletic goals, I can do anything.

So big things are happening. And I think I’m ready. 🙂

Leave a Reply

