I’m Alive!!

Hi All! I’m not dead?

I would not have blamed you if you thought I was. My last post was a ‘see you later, travelling Europe for a month’ and then poof! I disappeared. But not really. If you followed me on Instagram you’d have seen snapshots of my adventures in Spain, and then Ireland. I was just too busy (and the wifi in my field school dorm too shoddy) for proper blogging. Then I caught a really bad virus the day after Halloween, flew back to the United States a few days later (flying with a cold-not recommended), and then November 8th happened.

Yeah.

I don’t want to get too into politics here, I started this blog to focus on my hobby (the Thing I can control, versus the things I cannot control, my career, society) so I don’t want to get too much into my work/studies/political views, but let’s just say I’ve had a little bit of a rough go of it for the last few months. (Though obviously, I’m fairly safe, as a white, employed, US citizen, living in Massachusetts, compared to the other marginalized populations in our country who have had their entire lives upended, who have been denied their rights, been attacked by people they thought were friends and neighbors for the faith, ethnicity, or sexual orientation…)

But I’ve been stressing over it, feeling uncertain and afraid for the future, sometimes I felt like I was losing my mind. I felt the New England winter this year hard this year. I had a difficult time adjusting to the time change, possibly due to cold, possible due to Spain, Ireland, and the US all turning back the clocks at different times, so I experienced it three times over plus regular jet lag. Even a trip to Montana in January really threw me for a loop, my internal clock was off for a week.

But these are all just excuses for not blogging. I was indeed fatigued, suffering a bit of the SAD, jetlagged, etc. But I did manage to get out and do some fun and fit things! So let’s recap:

-Did not run in Barcelona, despite my careful route planning. Trying to get up early and run does not pair well with tequila and making out with cute Basque guys in cool subterranean bars. (But it’s pretty fucking worth it.)

-I went Scuba diving! I used to be really afraid of it, but I had a great time. We saw a cuttlefish!

image

The look on my face is 70% terror.

-I did a lot of physical labor, digging out a Roman necropolis on the Balearic Islands.

image

Two pictures, taken almost the same day four years apart. Left: Trail maintenance, Wales, 2012. Right: Field school, Spain, 2016.

-I did my own solo Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving.

image

Decent pace, but that was pretty much the most running I did in the last two months of 2016.

-As previously mentioned, I went to visit some friends from field school in Montana! We went ice fishing.

image

I did not like touching the fish. It was cold. And slimy.

-I went indoor camping at my friend’s family’s 18th century Dutch homestead on the Hudson River. Much beer, board games, and sledding was had. Buzzed midnight sledding. Surprisingly, no one had to go to the hospital, but there were some impressive wipe outs.

image

The Hudson’s lookin’ pretty this time of year.

-I went snowshoeing for the first time!

image

That’s actually what turned all this around. After three snow days in a row last week, I was feeling pretty stir crazy. I was starting to look up races for the summer, going a bit mad. Monday morning our family friend texted my mom to see if my parents wanted to go snowshoeing. My mom did have to work on Monday, but my recently retired father and I were free, so we headed out to the Blue Hills and did a 3.5 mile snowshoe around Ponkapoag Pond. Since then, I’ve actually felt excited about working out, and motivated to get out of bed and go for a run or go to the gym. I even went to a spin class on Tuesday after getting out of work.

So I’m back! Not dead, very alive, and looking forward to a great year!

image

(Okay, hopefully a great year. Probably a great fitness year. Maybe not so much a great general society year.)

image

I also got pretty into Black Mirror. #TooReal

If you want more regular posting, follow me on Instagram! @taylorofnewengland

Leave a Reply

